Review: Creed by Kristen Ashley (Unfinished Hero #2)

Released 09/15/12

382 pages

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

From the Publisher:

Way too young, eleven year old Tucker Creed and his six year old neighbor, Sylvie Bissenette, find they have something awful in common. Creed then decides he’s going to do everything in his limited power to shield his Sylvie from her ordeal. So he does and Creed and Sylvie form a bond that grows and blossoms with their ages.

They plot to leave their lives behind, the town they live in that will hold them down and the histories they share that, unless they break free, will bury them. Sylvie goes to their special place, Creed never shows and she doesn’t see him again until it’s too late.

With Creed gone, Sylvie is forced to endure a nightmare and do the unspeakable to end it. To deal, she develops a hard shell with sharp edges that very few can break through. So when Creed again finds his Sylvie, he discovers the girl he loved is locked away and he has to find his way back into her heart without getting shredded in the process.

THIS BOOK! I did not see this coming. This book is legitimately in my top 10 favorite books ever if not top-five. Like seriously, I have never loved two characters as much as I love Sylvie in Creed. At first, it took me a while to get into this book. I believe the first time that Sylvie in the creed get together. Period that’s when I knew it was on. I absolutely fell for both of these characters.

Sylvie works for Knight. Creed does his own thing. They come together to work on a case for Knight. Sylvie loves night, not like that, as best friends. She complicit me trust him. And she feels slightly betrayed when she’s forced to work with Creed who he knows is her childhood sweetheart. This book is told in alternating time periods. It goes between now and when Sylvie and Creed were younger. So what happened was Creed ended up leaving and he promised Sylvie that he would come back for her but he never did. Since he didn’t come back for her she was forced into this relationship with this other man by her father of all people. I don’t give away the whole story by telling exactly what happened but I think is important to know that each of their foundations is skewed since they don’t know the story from the other person’s perspective.

Honestly this is a five out of five because there are no two characters that can really compare to Sylvie and Creed for me. I don’t think I have loved both the hero and heroine is as much as I’ve loved these two characters in the book. This is the first time that I’ve loved both main characters hands-down. At first, I was a little put off by Sylvie and the whole story but I had read such great reviews that I kept going. Not to mention Knight is one of my favorite books ever. In the end, you have to read this. That is a statement, it’s not an “if you like this book you should read…” it’s a “I don’t care what you have read, you have to read this”

Favorite Quotes:

Born to love you, baby,” he repeated. “Die lovin’ you, my Sylvie.”

“You need me. You won’t stay away and you won’t let me go because, baby, you can’t breathe without me.”

“Some people get to live life. Some people survive it. We’re survivors. We can carve out our pieces of happy, and, I swear to God, baby, right now, you got my vow, for you and for me, the rest of our lives, I’ll bust my ass to carve our piece of happy.”

Leave a Reply

