Review: Release Me by J. Kenner

release me

From the Publisher:

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.
 
He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.
 
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

So I have to say that I really loved this book. Damien of course is a super hunky alpha male which tends to be the norm in all the new adult romance novels. Not that I am complaining. At All. J Kenner’s writing style made everything seem a little more fresh. I read a lot of books, and most of them are in the same category. I can’t quite pinpoint what made this different for me. It could be the writing, it could be the characters or it could be a combination of both.

Nikki is written with such depth and the character is well developed. She isn’t a Mary-Sue but she does have her moments where she is frustrating. All characters have those moments but with some it seems like every other page their world is imploding and they can’t handle it. Kenner builds Nikki with such depth that yes, she does things that frustrate the reader but the reason why she does those things is understandable. I don’t want to give away too much as this is one of my first reviews so I am trying to find the middle ground between telling the whole story and not spoiling it for people who want to read it.

The build up to the relationship in this novel is hot. I’m not sure if hot is even good enough. I don’t know what word would do it justice.

“I’m looking forward to tonight, Ms. Fairchild,” he says, his voice ripe with quiet urgency. He’s looking right at me, and I see the heat in his eyes that has become familiar to me. “It’s hard to be so close to something so precious and know you don’t yet possess it.”

“Possess?” I repeat.

His grin is slow and confident. “Possess. Have. Hold. Enjoy. Control. Dominate. Pick your verb, Ms. Fairchild. I intend to explore so many of them.”

And that is before things even get good! Let me just tell you that there is this incredibly hot scene with some pearls that will get your blood boiling. Again I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone so I won’t say too much. While the book is definitely steamy it also has its emotional moments and they feel real and genuine.

“Everyone breaks a little sometimes. That doesn’t make you weak. It makes you wounded. And I will always be there to help you heal”

I release a shuddering breath as I pull back enough to loo into his face. I can’t imagine Damien breaking, but somehow I know that he’s speaking from experience. Everyone breaks.

That is one of my favorite little sections of the book. Both Nikki and Damien are overcoming things that they have gone through and they do it beautifully. Reading about how they grew into a relationship with one another was beautiful.

Overall, I really did enjoy this novel, everything seemed to wrap up well and it didn’t end in a mega cliffhanger. This is the first in a series of three books. The second book, Claim Me will be out April 23.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Disclaimer: This book was purchased by me. Blurb from Amazon.com

Advertisements